Topic Tuesday | The Honest Company | AmyLorrainePhotography.com

Over the past month or so, I have developed a skin condition called Perioral Dermatitis. Ever since, I’ve been researching the causes and symptoms. While most people struggling with this believe its mainly stress related (which this only made me stress more) there are a few things that can irritate your skin. I really think this is a blessing in disguise, although some days I don’t see that blessing, I’ve done a lot of research on health and beauty products. There are so many crazy ingredients into products that are horrible for you and I wont go back to using them! I’ve always been one to think if its on the shelf, its not bad. I mean we have rules and regulations for things you can sell. So it should be safe right? Wrong.

In my research I’ve found that sodium lauryl sulfate (SLS) which is almost EVERY cleaning and hygiene product out there, is a main cause/trigger to making it worse. Turns out SLS is a known skin irritant.. so why is it everything and even those so called “Natural” or “Organic” products that are supposed to be good for you? Well, it’s what helps create that lather in toothpaste, soaps, shampoo, etc.. I also read that its a shark repellent..  YES! Sharks, those scary creatures in the ocean that can eat you!

Anyways, I’ve been searching for products that aren’t bad for you and don’t contain these harsh chemicals. A friend suggested I look into the Honest Company. It is co-owned by the actress & mom of two, Jessica Alba and Christopher Gavigan, who is the former CEO of Healthy Child Healthy World (a national nonprofit empowering parents to protect their children from toxic risks).

honest.com

They have an HONESTLY FREE GUARANTEE, which means you won’t find the following list of toxic nasties in the products or packaging: phthalates, sodium lauryl/laureth sulfates, PVC, parabens, benzene, chlorine, synthetic fragrances, triclosan, formaldehyde-based preserving agents, nanoparticles, TEA, MEA, phosphates, polyethylene glycol (PEG), quaternium 15, DMDM hydantoin, 1-4 dioxane, bisphenol-A (BPA), alkylphenol ethoxylates (APEs)/nonylphenol, BHA, benzalkonium chloride.honest.comThe main focus is having healthy products for your home & children. They have cute diaper sets, wipes & baby bottles. I’m going to do more research on other companies with products but I’m definitely going to try them out even more and hope it helps!

honest.com

If you’d like to sign up for a free trial click here! You can cancel after you receive the sample, they send you a bunch of reminders so you don’t forget otherwise they’ll send you the full size bundle! I can’t wait to get my full sized one this week! *I’m not getting paid to write this, and I paid for my own bundle mailed to me!*

Leave a Reply

